Something intellectual – or so it seems

Professor Philip Zimbardo conveys how our individual perspectives of time affect our work, health and well-being. Time influences who we are as a person, how we view relationships and how we act in the world.

So after watching this video which is largely entertaining and had me re-watching and repeating certain areas just to catch the idea (yes, there’s retardation in my brain’s processing speed thanks to 2 years of conscripted shit) I have gained certain insights from his little lecture/talk here.

  • Schools and families turned us from present hedonists into future-oriented people
  • We’re digitally re-wired under the media and tech influence so youths today (I won’t say never) are less able to fit into traditional analogue classrooms.
  • All addictions are addictions of present hedonism
  • Perspectives of time changes with technology so today’s world sees a waiting for a minute as intolerable
  • Conflicts and misunderstandings between people could be due to differences in time perspectives

To the last point, I would like to think that it is partly the reason why me – along with many people in today’s society – are always late for events and occasions. Some of us see time as a commodity which can be compensated while others see it as a non-renewable source which cannot be replaced or apologized for. I need to do something about this. It’s affecting my relationship with everyone including the parents who think that I’m officially an owl. ): To those who has been affected by my perspective of time (aka punctuality issues), I apologize. And also  hope you understand. Haha. 😀

Leave a Reply

